Broken Heart

A heart that is broken still beats.
A heart cannot break of sadness
Or loneliness
Or despair.

My heart didn’t stutter when
My lungs cracked apart
And showed me how unforgiving
Your ice really is.

My heart was far from my mind
As my stomach twisted until
I could barely swallow.
Or eat. Or think.

My mind buried you and
Laid beside the grave,
Rubbing its fingers over
Your engraved name.

My heart slowed down and
Sped up when I pondered you
And showed me steadiness
As I faced grief.

2 thoughts on “Broken Heart

Leave a Reply

