Thinking

I wish I knew what to say,

when you give me that smile.

Because my thoughts turn

bright green and pink

Like a ripe watermelon, split open.

My personal colors of happiness.

 

I wish you knew how to react,

when my gaze distances itself.

Because my thoughts are a river of muted colors:

flesh pink, blue- gray, sad purple,

Like when the sun first greets a sleepy sky,

The colors of uncertainty.

 

Colors stain my emotions

and help ease my mind,

when I don’t know

which way is up–

or which way is down

–or how to breathe.

Leave a Reply

