Playlists

I have a playlist for my

blackest emotions

entitled “Mad”

made for the days when

I can’t figure out

which way is up.

I have a playlist

entitled “Sleep”

for when I can’t seem

to shake the haze

out of my eyes.

I have a playlist

entitled “Current”

which isn’t, in fact,

that current at all.

I have a playlist

entitled “Work”

as if I could concentrate

when my favorite songs play

on repeat in my mind.

But I don’t have a playlist

for the way I feel

when you smile at me,

or when you say I’m beautiful.

I don’t have music to describe

the beauty of the world.

I only wonder,

what does it sound like?

Leave a Reply

