He said to me,

“I am experimental with music.”

We long discussed what we liked and didn’t,

what annoyed us and what made us happy,

but broaching the subject of music seemed tedious.

As I try to think of the adequate way to list the artists and songs I love,

to classify them under a phrase or genre, and realize it’s not possible.

Macklemore, Lorde, Bastille, Justin Bieber, Genesis, Relient K, Imagine Dragons, All Time Low, Ed Sheeran, One Direction, Imogen Heap, Three Days Grace, Alkaline Trio, Nickelback, Paradise Fears–

They are not under one umbrella,

My thoughts are not easily explained.

But I do not doubt

that my point will eventually come across.

I am experimental with words.

Leave a Reply

